PDA

View Full Version : First time vise

Banks10
08-29-2007, 02:34 PM
I'm sure this question has been asked countless times on this board, but I am looking to land a relatively inexpensive vise to tie some basic trout catching flies. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Flyfish99
08-29-2007, 02:48 PM
I have been using a DanVise for a few years, and am quite happy with it. It is a rotary vise, and, although I don't rotary tie, I find it very handy to be able to turn the fly into any position. It costs about $80 through Orvis. Some 'purists" have bashed it, because the body is made of Delrin, but it is quite sturdy, and the molded delrin cuts the cost of the vise.

I also have a Regal that I have had for years, and use for tying larger flies. It is a very good vise, but a bit expensive for starting out. If you are on a tight budget, there are several clones of the venerable Thompson "A" vise that are low priced and will get the job done.

Steamtrain
08-29-2007, 03:19 PM
this thread started by solid might help

http://www.flyfishinginnh.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1681&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

wet_fly_action
08-30-2007, 04:34 AM
I still use a $10 "el cheapo" vise.

TGIF
08-30-2007, 08:28 AM
I started with a "Beginers Kit" from Cabelas, all the tools you need and some you don't for about $50. I have tied with it for about 2 years and haven't had an issue, nor have needed to upgrade.

My only advice is to try and get one with a C-Clamp for a table, but also a pedistal for easy setup anywhere.

I am sure that the expensive ones work better, but I've had not issues with the one I have.

coltranem
08-30-2007, 12:01 PM
Keep an eye out on Ebay.. Last year i bought a Griffin Superior 2A with Bobbin, threader, hair stacker, whip finish tool, and bodkin for like $50.

seems to work pretty nice...I am a beginner and have tied down to a size 18. My fingers kind of got in the way though.

Trout Fin
08-31-2007, 08:49 AM