PDA

View Full Version : Bead Heads, Weighted Wire or Split Shot?

Gtownfly
01-10-2008, 09:15 PM
Hey All:

So I'm very new to tying and I've been working on some small midge nymphs (size 18 and 20).

Nonconformist that I am, with nymphs I freewheel a lot, tending not to stick exactly to patterns I see in books or on the web. So my question is this:

Is there any rule as to when I should tie with a bead head versus some weighted wire? Or even simply forego incorporating weight in the fly and just use split shot?

Or is this simply a personal preference issue?

Thanks in advance,

Kevin

TGIF
01-10-2008, 10:10 PM
My rule of thumb with nymphs is that I put as much weight in them as I can, which often means a bead and some weighted wire. THe faster that thing gets down the better. In the smaller sizes this can get tough, and then I'll go with one or the other, plus some split shot. I don't think that there are any side effects of using weight in nymphs at all, given that they aren't so heavy that they can't even drift.....

I have seen it where fish are getting spooked by a shinny bead, especially on overcast days.... so i usually tie some nymphs with brown or black bead heads too....

Good Luck!!!

TGIF

mer
01-11-2008, 07:45 AM
I don't think there are really any "rules", so I'll give you my opinions which you are free to do with as you like. :)

I don't put a lot of weight on them.